Member Login

Read Our Latest Construction Education Articles & Blogs

Winners of the 2023 AIC National Awards Program

The Winners of the 2023 AIC National Awards Program

Each year, the AIC National Awards Program celebrates the achievements and contributions of constructors who have passionately served the American Institute of Constructors (AIC) and the construction industry.

These individuals exemplify the values of our organization through their service to AIC, the industry, and their local community. Their commitment to excellence and professionalism is the cornerstone of what makes AIC a leading organization for construction professionals.

This year, we recognized our deserving award winners during the annual AIC forum, which took place in February during the American Council for Construction Education (ACCE) mid-year conference in Texas. Let us now introduce you to the latest award winners.

2023 AIC National Awards Winners

The following individuals have separated themselves in the industry as representing the very best of AIC.

Congratulations to each of our distinguished award winners. Each professional highlighted this year has demonstrated a consistent commitment to excellence, ethics, and professionalism throughout their careers. Find out more about the significance of each award.

Insights Into Our National Awards and This Year’s Winners

Each of our awards captures standout contributions to the construction industry – professionally, educationally, or both. Consider the significance of the awards that we hand out each year.

AIC Liska/Dugan Lifetime Achievement Award

This award is given to an individual who has demonstrated a profound effect on construction education over a lifetime of achievements that promote the core values of AIC and support the development of the next generation of professional construction leadership. We named this award after Francis Duggan and Dr. Roger Liska, who embodied the achievements this award intends to recognize.

– This year, we recognize Dave Mattson of D. R. Mattson, Inc. as this year’s award recipient. Dave has been involved with AIC for over four decades and has been instrumental in supporting our organization through several transitions and successes.

Dave is a former AIC Board President, and he served on the AIC Board for dozens of years. He also served multiple terms on the Constructor Certification Commission (CCC) and was given our organization’s highest honor as a member of the AIC College of Fellows in 1997.

In addition to having a passion for the professional aspect of the construction industry, Dave has promoted educational advancements in construction. He has served as a Member, Treasurer, and President of the AIC Constructor Education Foundation, which provides educational resources to professional constructors. He currently serves as Treasurer of the foundation.

Jack Kinnaman AIC Leadership Award

The purpose of this award is to honor corporate leaders who have used their voices and taken action to support AIC. We recognize leaders who have taken a visible leadership role in AIC and have encouraged their colleagues and employees to join and support AIC.

– This year, we recognize Hugh Cronin, CPC, of Cronin Construction Management. Hugh has 25+ years of professional construction experience, with an emphasis on providing owner’s representation to stakeholders who need to overcome various challenges on the path to successful project delivery.

Hugh has been involved with AIC for several years since obtaining the Certified Professional Certification (CPC) designation. Hugh has taken on numerous leadership roles, including serving on the AIC Board, Constructor Certification Commission, and Collegiate Ethics Competition. Hugh has co-chaired the Collegiate Ethics Competition for the past three years, which has developed into a desired award for our University Partners.

W.A. Klinger Construction Education Award

This award recognizes construction educators or academicians who have distinguished themselves through teaching, research, and/or service. Each year’s winner must have a proven track record of advancing the construction profession, the nominees’ institution of learning, and their country.

– This year, we recognize Dr. Penny Knoll, MS, CPC, of Montana State University (MSU). We recently highlighted Dr. Knoll for her professional and educational achievements in supporting the advancement of the construction industry by educating future professionals at MSU.

Professor Knoll is an Associate Professor, Construction Engineering Technology Program Coordinator, and Internship Director at MSU, where she teaches Construction Management and Project Leadership. For AIC, Dr. Knoll serves as the Vice Chair of our Constructor Certification Commission (CCC) Board of Governors.

Dr. Knoll has attended our annual conferences since the 1990s and is deeply committed to supporting the advancement of AIC. She has impacted countless construction professionals who have benefited from her insights, experience, and wisdom.

Constructor Certification Commission Award: Stephen P. Byrne Award

This award is given to an individual who has supported the advancement of Constructor Certification at a high level. The winner of this award has demonstrated a high level of support for advancing our industry and Constructor Certification.

The award was established in 2013 to honor the late Stephen Byrne, CPC. Steve served as the AIC National President and Chair of the AIC Constructor Certification Commission. His leadership and dedication as an AIC member captured what a true Professional Constructor should look like. This award honors the legacy of Steve and what he stood for.

– This year, we recognize Rick Lawrence, CPC, of Siciliano, Inc. Rick has overseen some of the most high-profile projects in the Midwest during his time as company owner. Siciliano offers a diverse base of services, and the company self-performs over 90% of the work on its projects.

Rick has been involved in AIC for more than two decades. Rick has supported the CCC since 2002, when he joined the Examination Committee. In 2010, he was elected Chair of the Examination Committee, serving in that position until 2017. In 2011, Rick was elected to the Commission’s Board of Advisors and served in that position until 2014, when he was elected to the Board of Governors.

Rick continues to serve on the Board, where his effective leadership style is evident. He is tenacious in ensuring the day-to-day operations of the Commission are both effective and efficient. He continuously challenges Commission members to engage and drive toward improvements, benefiting our organization and the industry as a whole.

Thank You for Participating in the 2023 AIC National Awards

We are encouraged by the time and effort that went into each submission for our award winners. We appreciate everyone who participated in this year’s awards program by nominating a constructor, receiving an award, or attending the annual AIC forum.

We look forward to reading new submissions for the 2024 AIC National Awards program. Look for updates near the end of this year on when you can submit nominations for the next awards program.

– Not an AIC member? Learn more about how you can join our organization and deepen your involvement in AIC to distinguish yourself in the construction industry.

Recent Posts


This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.